Blind Mind Studios

Star Ruler => Star Ruler Discussion => Topic started by: Thy Reaper on June 08, 2011, 12:12:21 AM

Title: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Thy Reaper on June 08, 2011, 12:12:21 AM
Live Patch Notes for version 1.0.7.8.
Download 1.0.7.6 → 1.0.7.8 (http://starruler.blind-mind.com/patches/SR_v1.0.7.6-v1.0.7.8.exe)
Previous Patch: 1.0.7.4 → 1.0.7.6 (http://forums.blind-mind.com/index.php?topic=3360)

Changes: Final
[Fixed] Fixed a "Effector Data Mismatch" bug that many people were experiencing.
[Fixed] Significantly improved performance with AIs late-game.
[Fixed] Fixed a memory leak when loading a saved game.
[Fixed] Autosaves are now disabled when paused.
[Fixed] Planets with extremely low population are no longer useless until purged.
[Fixed] Pirates were not updating their hulls, leaving them very vulnerable as the game progressed.
[Fixed] Pirates were starting with random tech levels, sometimes causing them to be excessively powerful.
[Fixed] "Update Threshold" on blueprints is no longer lost when saving the blueprint.
[Fixed] Mining lasers with an emergency power supplying all the power needs caused an error.
[Fixed] Ammo usage wasn't updating when a modifier that affected it was added.
[Fixed] Pausing the game in multiplayer could cause newly connected clients to divide by zero in their interpolation, making stars vanish.
[Changed] When a planet is lost, everything yet to be built, and without any progress, are removed from the build queue.
[Changed] Reduced AI difficulty on lower AI settings.
[Changed] The right-click menu is now implemented in scripts.
[Balance] Planetary weapons gain range when on a Ringworld (10x base range).
[Balance] Fighter Hulls can now be made bigger as their tech level is increased.
[Added] Multiplayer option to prevent AIs from taking over player empires when they disconnect.
[Added] Added three special types of systems that offer unique tactical choices.
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: KaidenOZ on June 08, 2011, 12:47:18 AM
looking good again,  would it be possible to make it so i can unbind the "t" shortcut for in game IRC as im still getting lockups anytime i so much as look at the T key ingame.  being able to unbind it would be very useful.  also.  to avoid having to wait 10 years for steam to patch the game, is it nessicary to purchase the game again via one of the other digital download groups? getting to a pivital point where getting my hands on the patches as early as possible would be really nice rather then waiting for steam to crush my hopes by having to wait oh so much longer.
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: Thy Reaper on June 08, 2011, 01:20:14 AM
In your user files (My Documents/My Games/Star Ruler), open autoexec.ini with a text editor, and add a new line "bind t" (without quotes). That should prevent you from accidentally opening it. Also, have you updated Windows recently?

It is up to you if you purchase on another service, but Steam is usually updated within a day.
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: KaidenOZ on June 08, 2011, 02:44:06 AM
cheers mate,  will try the bind t thing.  yeah windows is all up to date unfortunatly.
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: KaidenOZ on June 08, 2011, 02:57:58 AM
just was having a new game then and had a thought. early expasion is hampered by supporting new colonies.  was grabbing the planets in my system with gov off so as not to draw early heavily on the bank.  is it/would it be possible to disallow access to the bank or turn buildings off?because even though i was not building anything the new worlds still would draw much needed metal from the galactic bank to get there own storage up to 100% regardless of me building anything or not.  so set up a new colony but turn off the starport so its not accessing the bank until IM ready to open the planet up to exspansion.... i know i could just not colonise it as an alternative but personally i would rather have the ability to remove gal bank access or turn off the start port at the early point so i can better control where my much lacking early game minerals go...  just a thought.
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: Blind_Rifleman on June 08, 2011, 07:13:00 AM
If your planets got to 100%, it means that the spaceports could not keep up with the resource production on planet. The spaceports will always try to keep the planet at 50% (or 95% if stockpiling civil act is used), importing when below, and exporting when above. It should never bring up stockpiles to 100%, that can only be done by on-planet production.

You should upgrade that planets spaceports, or build more, so it can send out it's excess resources to the bank.
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: KaidenOZ on June 08, 2011, 07:28:33 AM
was refering too the very first game stage when your pumping resorces into new planets.  as soon as colonizer deploys to planet...a spaceport is built...and planets resorces start at zero...it has no production yet the galactic bank will try to push it up to 50% im looking for a way or an ability to stop the planet from getting resorces till im ready without destroying the spaceport which in itself would make the colony completly useless.  its not that colonizeing many planets grinds the economy to a halt, but more this uncontrolled planetary need to be at 50% for all resorces.  even if you do not build anything on the planet after colonizer is deployed or if you have no govener set.  it will still try to get the planet to 50% for metal/adv/elec.  would be nice to be able to say..hey bitch,  no you cant have any just quite yet,  you are a prospecting colony until i deem it ok for you to have access to the bank. would make it possible to take planets and expand...but not nessicarly DEVELOP those worlds.  should be development that slaughters your empires coffers....not just stockpileing crap on them regardless of what your plans are.
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: hatemonger on June 08, 2011, 07:42:12 AM
Live Patch Notes for version 1.0.7.8.
Previous Patch: 1.0.7.4 → 1.0.7.6 (http://forums.blind-mind.com/index.php?topic=3360)
[Changed] When a planet is lost, everything yet to be built, and without any progress, are removed from the build queue.

Ah, excellent. I'm sick of building level 12 ships and structures on conquered planets when I'm level 17. Any way we could get an Empire option to remove all queued items from the build queue of colonized planets?
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: Superking on June 08, 2011, 03:34:32 PM
Wishlist:

+ make effect of Targetting Sensors linear with size, as the coolant system

+ make heavy hull useful (currently, it costs too much metal to be viable)

+ contrast weapon range/reload time/damage/burst/power/cost/ammo&energy usage more (they generally still very samey and dull.. every mod has got more interesting arsenals, why not base game?)


Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: Exa on June 08, 2011, 05:21:26 PM
[Balance] Fighter Hulls can now be made bigger as their tech level is increased.

Do you plan to add an "automatically scale up" command to the AI settings tab (analogue to the "automatically retrofit" one)?
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: Psyko on June 09, 2011, 03:03:04 PM
Continu the good work guys.

Can we have a hint ;)
When the patch will be release approximatly.

Thx

Cya
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: Azalrion on June 09, 2011, 03:50:09 PM
Quote
[Changed] The right-click menu is now implemented in scripts.

Fantastic change. Talking about right click, is there any update on the multiple tools not working on the same object issue?
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: GGLucas on June 09, 2011, 03:56:55 PM
Quote
Fantastic change. Talking about right click, is there any update on the multiple tools not working on the same object issue?

I haven't looked at what caused it in the previous right click menu, but I have tested multiple tools in the new one to make sure (*crosses fingers*) it works this time.
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: XTRMNTR2K on June 13, 2011, 04:31:22 AM
[Added] Added three special types of systems that offer unique tactical choices.

Uuuhhhhh... That sounds interesting. Any chance of a preview? ;D
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: GGLucas on June 13, 2011, 06:03:18 AM
We're still trying to figure out what exactly we want to do for the unique systems, but they're basically systems where some effect is occurring (we are considering Ion Storms that damage all ships in the system slowly) or where some specific object is.

One of the latter type is the Remnant Gate System (http://data.glacicle.org/starruler/remnant-gates.png). Three massive stations surrounded by defenses. Capture one of them and you can use its warp tool to teleport any object (planet, enemy, allied, doesn't matter, as long as it's not a star ;)) and all objects within a half-AU radius from a different system into the gate system. For obvious reasons they have a 30 minute cooldown, and those defense stations are going to be a pretty tough nut to crack.

All players are notified as soon as anyone grabs a gate, so you better be able to keep it.
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: Blind_Rifleman on June 13, 2011, 09:03:50 AM
Even Ringworlds?!
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: GGLucas on June 13, 2011, 09:22:19 AM
At the moment? Yes.

If you teleport an enemy ringworld into your own system, that's asking for trouble ;)
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: Totallyunderpowered on June 13, 2011, 09:48:17 AM
At the moment? Yes.

If you teleport an enemy ringworld into your own system, that's asking for trouble ;)

I think the bigger question is, what happens if you use it to try and stack multiple friendly ringworlds in one system?
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: GGLucas on June 13, 2011, 10:12:57 AM
Uhhh..... That....

You and your crazy minds.

(Not much will happen, by the way, it'll just be impossible to select most of the ringworlds)
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: Hazzard on June 13, 2011, 10:19:59 AM
I think trying to warp a sun in should cause a super nova on arrival, destroying the gate and the idiot's possessions in the system.  ;D
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: GGLucas on June 13, 2011, 10:34:23 AM
That would leave it prone to a "scorched earth" tactic when you're close to losing the battle in the system.

I would love to do something like that, but it's too exploitable.
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: Hazzard on June 13, 2011, 12:25:26 PM
What about warping the enemies strongest planets in and destroying them one by one?
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: GGLucas on June 13, 2011, 12:27:38 PM
That is one way to use them, yes.

You only get three uses per 30 minutes, and if you're teleporting in the strongest planets then that also means you're taking the strongest defenses with them ;)
Title: Re: Live Patch Notes
Post by: Orkel on June 13, 2011, 12:28:42 PM
Gives some pretty good incentive in conquering these systems from your enemies.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Releasing)
Post by: Hazzard on June 13, 2011, 03:26:02 PM
And now we wait for Steam to pull their finger out.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Releasing)
Post by: Thy Reaper on June 13, 2011, 04:53:12 PM
We discovered an error with the patch, and have had to re-upload it. If you've already installed the patch before this post, please re-install and re-update from scratch. Sorry for the inconvenience.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Skeletor6669 on June 13, 2011, 06:06:14 PM
[Fixed] Pausing the game in multiplayer could cause newly connected clients to divide by zero in their interpolation, making stars vanish.

shit happen when you divide by zero eh lol.

is there any chance of higher resolutions being supported in the future? the highest I can go is 1280 x 1050.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: GGLucas on June 13, 2011, 06:07:58 PM
It tries to detect the resolution of your monitor. Maybe it is failing.

You can edit the resolution manually in Documents/My Games/Star Ruler/config.cfg
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Skeletor6669 on June 13, 2011, 06:10:10 PM
ah ok found it, set the resolution to desktop then exit and start the game again. God this is beautiful! And I've just seen the main menu so far lol.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: elwood612 on June 14, 2011, 08:28:57 AM
not sure if this is worth making a thread in the bugs section, but I just played a game where a system nearby was marked volatile (it said the star could explode due to instability). However, when I saved the game and returned to it later, it had become a normal system. Yes, I'm sure it was the same one.

Anyway, thanks for the awesome patch!
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: GGLucas on June 14, 2011, 08:35:40 AM
Ah, you are correct, I forgot to implement saving and loading for the system tags that display the descriptions when you hover over them.

The star should still have its low hitpoints though, so gameplay-wise there won't be a problem. The display issue will be fixed for the next patch.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: elwood612 on June 14, 2011, 08:57:51 AM
You're right, it does. Is that the only instability, low hitpoints? So if no one attacks the star, it won't blow up?

Also, does anyone notice anything odd relating to Treaties since patching? I've had 3 crashes in the past hour, all related to treaties being accepted or ending, and I've had several treaties from the AI that were just weird (asking for the same thing twice in the same treaty). Maybe it's just me.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: GGLucas on June 14, 2011, 08:59:50 AM
Quote
You're right, it does. Is that the only instability, low hitpoints? So if no one attacks the star, it won't blow up?

Yes.

Quote
Also, does anyone notice anything odd relating to Treaties since patching? I've had 3 crashes in the past hour, all related to treaties being accepted or ending,

Hm. I haven't noticed anything with treaties myself, but I'll do some extra stress-testing on them to see if any crashes were introduced there.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Orkel on June 14, 2011, 04:21:04 PM
How low are their hitpoints compared to a normal one? Will it pop from pretty much everything?
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: GGLucas on June 14, 2011, 04:39:29 PM
They have 4M hitpoints. It should be possible to kill it in a reasonable timespan from the 40 minute mark onwards.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Slammer on June 14, 2011, 05:42:10 PM
For what is worth, I just updated (the latest patch) through the UI and the game is corrupted.

there is a mismatched subsystem data.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: exelsisxax on June 15, 2011, 12:39:25 PM
Just tested to find the new systems.
Remnant Gate: 3 teleportation starbases, well defended
Remnant Imperial Seat: contains a planet with 50 slots, PREPOSTEROUSLY well defended.
Unstable Star: awesome looking red giant, barely any HP.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Trent on June 15, 2011, 05:34:47 PM
Any idea when Steam will have this available?  Those load errors have killed two of my long saves :(
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Thy Reaper on June 15, 2011, 05:37:43 PM
I sent it off to them. It's taking an abnormal amount of time to get a response, not sure what's wrong.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Trent on June 15, 2011, 09:10:32 PM
Ah bugger.  Thanks for the update Thy!
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: calvin65 on June 18, 2011, 05:56:46 AM
How about an "all in one" patch anytime soon?

From 1.0.2.4 up to now there are 8 patches that must be applied and the auto update function only works for the last 2 or 3 of them.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Thy Reaper on June 18, 2011, 09:01:44 AM
Your distributor should allow you to download a much more recent base version to patch from.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Profound_Darkness on June 18, 2011, 09:52:53 AM
I did that recently with GamersGate - the new base version was 1.0.7.2 instead of 1.0.2.4.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: MortMan on June 18, 2011, 10:46:35 AM
I bought a second copy from BMT micro since Steam apparently takes about a week to apply new updates. Bad Steam but happy me :)
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Zinabas on June 21, 2011, 06:07:00 AM
Made an account just to complain about this... not to you guys though. Steam seems to be going downhill recently. June 7 seems to be when the patch came out. June 21 and I'm still seeing no sign of it from steam.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Azalrion on June 21, 2011, 06:35:54 AM
13th, but yeah steam are taking a very long time for this.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: KiviGerbil on June 21, 2011, 10:03:16 AM
There seems to be something on the steam news for star ruler, it says that the patch will be applied when the steam client is restarted.

Hasn't worked for me yet.

Makes me think twice about buying another game from them.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog (Re-released 10PM GMT)
Post by: Azalrion on June 21, 2011, 10:10:18 AM
Thats from April, steam havent put up the patch notes for several patches now.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Totallyunderpowered on June 21, 2011, 11:51:49 AM
In the same boat as the rest of the Steam users: been stuck at 1.0.7.8.  I figured it might take as long as the weekend to see it posted on their servers, I guess I figured wrong. 
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Thy Reaper on June 21, 2011, 02:06:52 PM
Our Steam contact just informed me he'll be releasing the patch momentarily.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Azalrion on June 21, 2011, 02:12:33 PM
Aye Steam just updated, thank you Reaper.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: KiviGerbil on June 22, 2011, 09:23:14 AM
Was there any reason it was delayed this much?
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Thy Reaper on June 22, 2011, 09:32:25 AM
Our contact said that he didn't notice the email in the shuffle, so maybe his office was being moved elsewhere at the time. Not sure specifically.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Unreal2004GF on June 23, 2011, 09:35:04 AM
I have found a few bugs and will post what they are as soon as I document them.  The ones I remember off the top of my head are the "select all *insert ship name here, eg Fighter r1*" does not work, it deselects all of the ships selected, also there are numerous instances where text is malformed such as on one game my home planet said *form* instead of *idle* or *Defend System*.  More to follow ;)
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: GGLucas on June 23, 2011, 09:38:52 AM
Quote
select all *insert ship name here, eg Fighter r1*" does not work

Has been fixed for the next patch.

Quote
there are numerous instances where text is malformed such as on one game my home planet said *form* instead of *idle* or *Defend System*

I'm not quite sure what you mean by this. Could you post a screenshot? Thanks.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Unreal2004GF on June 23, 2011, 09:41:03 AM
No prob, in game now.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Unreal2004GF on June 23, 2011, 09:48:09 AM
Ok here is the first shot, the text errors I have highlighted in red, I should have typed *font* not *form LOL.  The bar for research seems to be malformed too when researching, I started this game right after patching and am running it as vanilla.  The other part is down near the bottom where ship orders are shown, all seem to be screwed up.  Just to throw this out there but do you think I should do a clean install of SR just to rule anything out?  I have multiple mods installed but this game, as I said before, is running as vanilla.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Unreal2004GF on June 23, 2011, 09:49:23 AM
Also no matter what distance I set my ships to defend they always fly off to an enemy out of the range I set.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: GGLucas on June 23, 2011, 09:52:39 AM
Quote
Just to throw this out there but do you think I should do a clean install of SR just to rule anything out?

Problems like this are caused by something going wrong during patches. I would indeed suggest you re-install star ruler and re-download all the patches. (You might have a corrupt / wrong patch in there somewhere). Make sure you install all the patches in the right order.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Unreal2004GF on June 23, 2011, 09:53:51 AM
Gotcha, too bad I have SR through impulse :( :( :(
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Unreal2004GF on June 23, 2011, 10:21:06 AM
That fixed EVERYTHING, must have been a corrupted 1.0.7.8 patch, all was working fine before that.  When I updated to that patch last time I used the in game patcher, this time I used the web based patcher just to do another different route.  Will continue to look for bugs though ;)  And GREAT FREAKING GAME!!!!!!!!!  Just wish my laptop could run it a bit better, have to turn galaxy gas off and run less than 75 systems or it is sloooooooow.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Azalrion on June 24, 2011, 01:05:01 PM
I was wondering why ParticleField and IonStorm systems have been commented out in special_systems.as initSpecialSystems.

 Do those kind of random systems work or only the remnant style ones?
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Firgof on June 24, 2011, 01:07:06 PM
Those are functional; we just don't like what art we can currently provide them (a recolored star) and want to find a better way to gear their mechanics.
Title: Re: v1.0.7.6->v1.0.7.8 Changelog
Post by: Azalrion on June 24, 2011, 01:09:37 PM
Ah I see, thank you very much Firgof.