Author Topic: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]  (Read 4726 times)

SpaceBoy6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« on: January 17, 2013, 01:37:04 PM »
When playing the game I seem suffer an unusual error. Around every single star there is hundreds of massive sized pixels flickering constantly. I'm not sure what is causing this as I have only recently installed the game, but it seems to happen on every version of the game and no mods that change stuff like that fix it either. Am I missing some driver of some sort?

System Specs:
AMD FX-4100
8GB 1866mhz Ram
GTX 560 Ti
64Gb SSD
« Last Edit: January 17, 2013, 02:36:51 PM by GGLucas »
- Conquerer Of Star's! -
Selling a inno3d 9500gt 30Pound(UK ONLY)

Firgof

  • BMS Administrator
  • Delusional
  • *
  • Posts: 1531
  • Karma: +175/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2013, 01:42:14 PM »
Try ticking the intel graphics chipset compatibility flag and see if that helps.
"Now it will punish you"

Azalrion

  • Delusional
  • ****
  • Posts: 1325
  • Karma: +147/-1
  • Memory Murderer
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2013, 01:50:27 PM »
The latest Nvidia drivers have changed their implementation of OpenGL and are now causing errors with some star ruler shaders. 306.X is the last confirmed version working I used, 310.X is definitely not working.
GA - Mod Team
GA Forums

GGLucas

  • Dr. Evil
  • BMS Staff
  • Delusional
  • *
  • Posts: 1877
  • Karma: +300/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2013, 02:36:16 PM »
There was an error in the corona shader that didn't show up in older versions of the driver. I've attached the fixed shader, replace the file materials/shaders/corona_anim_ps.txt with it and the problem should be fixed.

SpaceBoy6

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2013, 05:29:29 PM »
Thank you so much  :) - Glad to see you guys in action fixing these small, but irritating problems. Now I can play the game and not have my eyes hurt by those pixels  ;D
- Conquerer Of Star's! -
Selling a inno3d 9500gt 30Pound(UK ONLY)

Azalrion

  • Delusional
  • ****
  • Posts: 1325
  • Karma: +147/-1
  • Memory Murderer
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2013, 08:09:11 AM »
Thanks Lucas.
GA - Mod Team
GA Forums

Orpheus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #6 on: January 24, 2013, 08:15:44 PM »
Hate to be 'that guy' but the above fix isn't working for me (Core i5 3750, GTX 570, 310.90 drivers). Turning on the chipset compatibility resolves the glitchy halos but renders the colour base of star systems all wrong, with awful lines.

Any thoughts on why it's not working?
« Last Edit: January 24, 2013, 08:23:42 PM by Orpheus »

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #7 on: January 24, 2013, 08:32:05 PM »
Unfortunately, unless we have a machine which would replicate your issue after applying the above fix, I don't know if we'll be able to help.

Powermaniac

  • Sentient
  • **
  • Posts: 90
  • Karma: +3/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2013, 09:07:07 PM »
Orpheus, I'm going to suggest posting your log.txt preferably in -verbose mode. As that gives some helpful information on what exactly is failing.

Orpheus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #9 on: January 25, 2013, 12:00:06 PM »
Well, that I can definitely do:

Quote
Logical CPUs: 4
Loading config.cfg...
Initializing Engine...
Processor speed: 3.403GHz
Star Ruler build: 1.2.1.2
Seed: 4058656
============
Loading resources...
============
============
Hooking script functions...
============
============
Hooking script functions... Finished(37ms)
============
============
Loading/Building scripts...
============
Could not open file of texture: Mods\GalacticArmory\Materials/../Images/SubSystems/twin_muon_turret.png
AS Server Error in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Star Ruler\Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data\scripts\server\GABasicEffects.as: Compiling void StaticCheckPosition(Event@)
 line: 8, col: 1
AS Server Error in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\Star Ruler\Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data\scripts\server\GABasicEffects.as: 'game' is not declared
 line: 20, col: 3
============
Loading/Building scripts... Finished(3377ms)
============
============
Loading game data files...
============
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(3) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::startEmergencyPower"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(4) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::addEmergencyPower"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(5) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::removeEmergencyPower"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(48) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::PlanetRegen"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(59) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::SelfHealing"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(64) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::importdockBuilt"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(65) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::importdockDestroyed"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(66) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::BankImport"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(88) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::convertH3"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(101) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::ScoopH3"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(116) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::ReleaseHeat"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(387) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::FabricateAmmo"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(392) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::ImportAmmo"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(397) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::CollectAsteroids"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(518) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::SetVisible"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(522) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::SetInvisibleOnce"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/ga_effects.txt(524) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::SetInvisible"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/remnant_eff.txt(37) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::StaticCheckPosition"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/struct_effects.txt(8) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::spaceportBuilt"
Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effects/struct_effects.txt(9) error E007: No function with matching parameter list (Event@,float)
 Function: "GABasicEffects::spaceportDestroyed"
============
Loading resources... Finished(7820ms)
============
Effect Definition Error:
 No Function "GABasicEffects::float CanHarvest(const Object@, const Object@, const Effector@)" found
  In 'GABasicEffects::CanHarvest': Mods\GalacticArmory\Game Data/Effectors/effectors.txt(2304)
============
Loading game data files... Finished(4465ms)
============
============
Preparing Galaxy...
============
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
Trait Only : automated
============
Preparing Galaxy... Finished(625ms)
============
============
Initialize GUI...
============
============
Initialize GUI... Finished(117ms)
============
Game loop start 2:26:51 1/25/2013
Attempted to create invalid hull 'Remnant Golem'
 Error: Too much space taken by SubSystems
Attempted to create invalid hull 'Remnant Behemoth'
 Error: Too much space taken by SubSystems
Attempted to create invalid hull 'Remnant God'
 Error: Too much space taken by SubSystems

This is a chunk of it, there are several more duplicates of this; it appears to be the same each game. This is using the latest GA with the patch, but it happens in unmodded games as well. This isn't a verbose mode log by the way, I don't know how to do that!

What seems to happen, is that in compatibility mode, the star halos render correctly, but the colour backdrop on the flat plane of each star system doesn't render properly. Without compat mode, the system backdrops display fine, but the star halos are pixelated. I took a couple of screens to help:

With compatibility mode:
http://cloud-2.steampowered.com/ugc/594741935771913867/312C6FBF25E73EEE50B4C4BCA6CE5C6DB2265912/

Without:
http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/594741935771917527/2C98E0A6314655C0FB2012F51721FA7791752B30/

Switching compat mode off mid-game does render the system backdrops properly, but after a while it reverts to back on, so it's not really a fix (it's also why the sun halo displays ok in the second screenshot).

This i5 3570 does include an onboard GPU set, maybe SR is picking that up instead of the GTX570? I get an odd 'screen flash', like you get when a GPU switches modes or changes your resolution, when I close the game that I'm fairly sure I didn't get before (was on an old i5 750 until a few days ago).

Hope this is some help anyway! Cheers for any and all suggestions.

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2013, 12:43:55 PM »
In those screenshots, your coronas are not broken, they're in low (or no?) shader mode. What shader quality are you set to?

Orpheus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2013, 12:46:30 PM »
Shaders are at very high in both screenshots. Guessing that's not good?! It's a fresh steam download, though I did have to run the openal thing. I also ran the VC redist, just in case.

Verbose log file (non-modded start) attached.

EDIT: And like I said, in the second screen, the halos aren't pixelating due to the game being started in compatibility mode, then switching it off in game. I'll get a screen with compat mode off from game start as well for you.

Double edit: Argh! Seems that the pixelated star issue only occurs with GA (latest patch) loaded, though I'm convinced that both normal and modded starts had the error when I posted last night. Very odd. Will make another post with a verbose log for a GA game.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2013, 12:51:24 PM by Orpheus »

Orpheus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2013, 12:52:40 PM »
Verbose log for GA 193 (with patch):

EDIT: I'm evidently an idiot, please ignore me! I didn't think to add the hotfix file into the main GA directory - totally my fault! Might be worth noting that on the hotfix page! :) Cheers for all the help.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2013, 12:54:47 PM by Orpheus »

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #13 on: January 25, 2013, 12:57:51 PM »
I hadn't noticed from your last post, it is possible that Star Ruler is binding to the wrong device. If you are in fullscreen mode, it could be switching the display to the other gpu. If you run in windowed mode, it shouldn't be able to bind to a different gpu; could you try that?

Orpheus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #14 on: January 25, 2013, 01:16:28 PM »
Well, it definitely doesn't screen-flash when in windowed mode. Here's a screen (non compat mode) from an unmodded game start:

http://cloud.steampowered.com/ugc/594741935773237454/7110FC79EF80C80177EDF245D9D634990D74CEDC/

Does it still look like the shaders are wonky? To me, in that screen, is how the game has always looked. :)

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #15 on: January 25, 2013, 01:23:06 PM »
That looks correct. Seems Star Ruler doesn't understand default device selection or something.

Orpheus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #16 on: January 25, 2013, 01:34:53 PM »
Good to hear, cheers. It could well be that the Ivy Bridge i5s attempt to use the onboard GPU if it determines that the load is low enough, or the screen switching might be a result of swapping from onboard (running desktop) to offboard (game/high GPU load scenario). I've only had this cpu a few days, so I've not worked out if there's a way to deactivate the onboard HD4000 through the bios etc yet. Either way, I'm happy - SR is my all-time favourite 4x and it's nice to be able to come back to it after a break. Hope you guys have got a new game planned for the future :)


Firgof

  • BMS Administrator
  • Delusional
  • *
  • Posts: 1531
  • Karma: +175/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #17 on: January 25, 2013, 02:39:58 PM »
We do and have been working on it for a year already.  I'm very excited.  If you thought Star Ruler was technically impressive wait for us to show you what our next game can do.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2013, 02:41:34 PM by Firgof »
"Now it will punish you"

Orpheus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 35
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #18 on: January 25, 2013, 02:57:19 PM »
I look forward to it!

VasVadum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star [Hotfix inside]
« Reply #19 on: March 29, 2013, 06:42:02 PM »
Is there any chance this pixelated star bug can be fixed in an update? Sure you may have posted a fix here, but what of those who don't use the forums or don't know what to do with the file?

I'm just thinking about the rest of the star ruler players is all.  I got a friend to buy the game yesterday by pointing it out to him.  :P  So the star ruler community is at least still gaining new members.

VasVadum

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: +1/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Pixelated error around every star
« Reply #20 on: March 29, 2013, 06:52:26 PM »
There was an error in the corona shader that didn't show up in older versions of the driver. I've attached the fixed shader, replace the file materials/shaders/corona_anim_ps.txt with it and the problem should be fixed.

-------deleted--------------

Nvm, I had to replace the same file in the mod as well.  Didn't realize it  till I went and checked the specifics.  Still, this should come out as an update to the game at some point so people don't have to go fix it manually.
« Last Edit: March 29, 2013, 06:57:25 PM by VasVadum »