Author Topic: Localizer 1.2  (Read 3722 times)

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Localizer 1.2
« on: September 21, 2010, 06:42:48 AM »
Description: small and very useful portable (no installation required) tool, designed to help community in localization of new Star Ruler files.


Prerequsite: .NET Framework 3.0

Version: 1.2

Download

Suggestions for improvements is always welcome.
« Last Edit: December 13, 2010, 11:06:59 AM by Forevener »

maxi

  • Delusional
  • ****
  • Posts: 504
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localizer
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2010, 07:26:53 AM »
It's a very useful tool for non-English people. You don't have to search manually for changes in the new patch. You just click to copy new entries and you can start translating them immediately.

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2010, 07:37:21 AM »
It's a very useful tool for non-English people. You don't have to search manually for changes in the new patch. You just click to copy new entries and you can start translating them immediately.
Yes, you're right! Thank you.

Most important fucntion is "Edit" - "Compare original and localized". Press this button, and then application will ask your permission to add new entries to localized file.

Thorvlad

  • Sentient
  • **
  • Posts: 163
  • Karma: +15/-0
  • French Community Translator
    • View Profile
Re: Localizer
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2010, 07:54:47 AM »
Good work  !
--------------------------------------
The fat it is the life

Challenger

  • Sentient
  • **
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localizer
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2010, 08:10:17 AM »
Many thanks for it!
It really makes localization easier.
Have you written this program yourself?

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2010, 08:19:11 AM »
Have you written this program yourself?
Yes, I have wrote it in three hours.  :)

Darcion

  • Sentient
  • **
  • Posts: 105
  • Karma: +3/-2
    • View Profile
Re: Localizer
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2010, 08:20:18 AM »
yeah cool, i used the notepad++, wasnt very difficult but this should be little bit easier.

maxi

  • Delusional
  • ****
  • Posts: 504
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localizer
« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2010, 12:05:24 PM »
Yes, you're right! Thank you.

Most important fucntion is "Edit" - "Compare original and localized". Press this button, and then application will ask your permission to add new entries to localized file.
I used that function. I didn't translate that so far to my language, but I'm going to.

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer
« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2010, 12:24:00 PM »
I used that function. I didn't translate that so far to my language, but I'm going to.
I do understand.  :)
But when you wrote word "copy", I realized that first element of the menu called "Copy original to localized", and such name can cause some confuses. So I have renamed it to "overwrite".

maxi

  • Delusional
  • ****
  • Posts: 504
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localizer
« Reply #9 on: September 21, 2010, 12:49:40 PM »
I see.

maxi

  • Delusional
  • ****
  • Posts: 504
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localizer
« Reply #10 on: September 23, 2010, 05:59:31 AM »
I found in your program a bug. I noticed that some of variables are doubled.

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer
« Reply #11 on: September 23, 2010, 07:10:00 AM »
I found in your program a bug. I noticed that some of variables are doubled.
Fixed.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2010, 07:29:27 AM by Forevener »

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer
« Reply #12 on: October 05, 2010, 12:22:43 AM »
obsolete message
« Last Edit: October 08, 2010, 07:38:53 AM by Forevener »

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer
« Reply #13 on: October 08, 2010, 07:39:46 AM »
I'm afraid that I has underestimated my own powers...
Allow me to present new version of Localizer!

Don't forget to make backups, anyway.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 09:29:49 AM by Forevener »

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer
« Reply #14 on: October 10, 2010, 11:32:26 AM »
Updated to version 1.1 - advanced mode is enabled.

maxi

  • Delusional
  • ****
  • Posts: 504
  • Karma: +18/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localizer
« Reply #15 on: October 10, 2010, 12:11:08 PM »
Now translating is becoming much easier than before. These new options look cool.

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer
« Reply #16 on: October 14, 2010, 12:23:17 PM »
New command: Edit -> Sort by original order. Now comments and empty lines counts as entries, so files will be identical in form. Comments is unlocalizable.
New command: View -> Fonts, allows you to change fonts in Plain Text mode and Advanced mode separately.
« Last Edit: October 15, 2010, 03:31:13 AM by Forevener »

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer
« Reply #17 on: October 18, 2010, 01:21:44 AM »
Why nobody said me that advanced mode is not saving the data? He-e-eh!
Update: advanced mode fixed, checkboxes for entry translation status added.

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer 1.1.6
« Reply #18 on: October 18, 2010, 04:35:51 AM »
Settings fixed.

PunkiBastardo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localizer 1.1.6
« Reply #19 on: October 18, 2010, 05:24:53 AM »
Hi!

Thanks for the great App, a couple of things:

Advanced mode only saves changes when I click on standard/plaintext mode tab and then back again to advanced. I would think it should save the changes when you press on another var from the list.

Also, in advanced mode if you could make it so when you click on a var that the text gets fully selected so as to start typing immediately that would be awesome.

Oh and if you can please make it so that the initial space character (" ") gets added automatically so you don't have to start all translations with a blank space.

Thank you so much for this wonderful tool

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer 1.1.6
« Reply #20 on: October 18, 2010, 05:31:19 AM »
1. Saving fixed again. Redownload please.
2. Auto-selection? Ok.
3. Auto-space? Ok.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2010, 05:55:57 AM by Forevener »

PunkiBastardo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localizer 1.1.6
« Reply #21 on: October 18, 2010, 05:39:59 AM »
Thank you very much!

1 works wonderful now.

on 3 I mean that the initial space character gets omitted from the edit screen, but gets auto added on the background (You probably understood me before, but just to make sure  ;))

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer 1.1.7
« Reply #22 on: October 18, 2010, 05:46:07 AM »
I've understood you right, no doubt.  :)
Check new version.
Not just selection, but double-click on the tree-node will select text editing box.

And - thank you for the feedback.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2010, 05:56:20 AM by Forevener »

PunkiBastardo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Localizer 1.1.7
« Reply #23 on: October 18, 2010, 06:01:59 AM »
You sir are godly!  ;D

One thing I just thought would come in handy is if pressing tab while on advanced mode, changes selection to the next var in the list with the editable text fully selected. Right now it just changes focus to the different parts of the window, and some of em are non-editable. Something along those lines would be great if it's doable.

Thank you so much!

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer 1.1.8
« Reply #24 on: October 18, 2010, 09:29:04 AM »
View -> Autoloading files... it's self-explaining.
Pressing [Tab] in advanced mode (when textbox gained focus) will switch current entry.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 05:09:21 AM by Forevener »

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer 1.1.9
« Reply #25 on: November 27, 2010, 09:53:09 AM »
1.1.9 is out.
Only Unicoded english.txt is supported now.

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer 1.2
« Reply #26 on: December 12, 2010, 05:08:17 AM »
1.2 is out.
Reverted 1.1.9 changes (hardcoded Unicode reading).
Changed View to Settings.
Added View - Hide translated entries (accessible only in Advanced mode).
« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 09:30:54 AM by Forevener »

Forevener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 41
  • Karma: +4/-0
    • View Profile
    • Virtualize
Re: Localizer 1.2
« Reply #27 on: December 13, 2010, 06:32:21 AM »
Updated the screenshot to reflect most important aspects of this application.

Why not to use it? Is Notepad++ better?