Author Topic: Cannot run game  (Read 1547 times)

Dooby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Cannot run game
« on: October 13, 2011, 05:51:08 AM »
What was witnessed:
(Steam) A window appears then crashes my display driver and screen goes black... after a while the screen comes back with a message saying my display driver recovered but the game window is not responding.
(StarRuler.exe) An error message stating "The application was unable to start correctly (0x000007b)."

What was expected:
The game.

Reproduction Steps:
  • Uninstall game
  • Uninstall C++ 2008 redist
  • Delete OpenAL32.dll from C:\Windows\System32\ and C:\Windows\SysWOW64
  • Reinstall C++ 2008 redist
  • Reinstall game
  • Run oalinst.exe
  • Copy OpenAL32.dll from C:\Windows\System32\ to C:\Windows\SysWOW64

System Specs:
Intel i3 dual core
8gb RAM
2gb AMD Radeon HD 6990m
« Last Edit: October 13, 2011, 06:30:19 AM by Dooby »

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Cannot run game
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2011, 04:21:59 PM »
We're using C++ 2010 redist, rather than 2008. Please try installing it from Microsoft directly.

Dooby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot run game
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2011, 03:30:37 AM »
Afraid no joy, although when running from Steam now it doesn't crash my display driver, just nothing happens. A Steam window pops up briefly saying "Running Star Ruler" and then disappears.

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Cannot run game
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2011, 09:04:13 AM »
Please launch the game directly to get the error message.

Dooby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot run game
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2011, 04:50:05 AM »
(StarRuler.exe) An error message stating "The application was unable to start correctly (0x000007b)."

Same error message, sorry.

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Cannot run game
« Reply #5 on: October 17, 2011, 09:24:23 AM »
Something is wrong with one of the dependencies, probably the 2010 redistributable. I don't know what to do to fix this sort of bug, as all the information I can find about it makes it out to be a very generic error, so I don't have enough information to recommend further.

Dooby

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot run game
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2011, 09:59:58 AM »
So... can I have my money back then please?

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Cannot run game
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2011, 10:04:04 AM »
You need to contact your distributor, we cannot directly offer refunds.

Jusas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +5/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot run game
« Reply #8 on: October 18, 2011, 07:10:15 AM »
Well I'm an outsider but if I may be of any help...

Windows error code 0x7b suggests that you're somehow trying to mix 32bit and 64bit DLL's. As for how this has happened I have no idea but I've seen this first hand plenty of times as a developer.

If you're still interested to fix the problem I recommend you to download the Dependency Walker (http://www.dependencywalker.com/) and check out what the problem is. Assuming the DLL's Star Ruler needs are compiler linked this should work. Here's how you do it:

- Download and run Dependency Walker
- Open the StarRuler.exe in Dependency Walker by using the open menu or dragging the exe-file to the app window

You'll now probably see a few error notifications in the window. Here's an example of the output:


The highlighted parts are what we're all interested in. Pressing the F9 key will show the absolute paths to the DLL's. Posting a screenshot of the window would help. 64bit dll's are marked with the little 64-icon. Who knows, the problem may be something else but this should give us something to work with even in that case.

Heinzelmann

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot run game
« Reply #9 on: August 08, 2012, 11:43:09 AM »
Hi,

ive got the same problem, is there a solution meanwhile?