Author Topic: Star distortion / shader noise  (Read 1377 times)

Michus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Star distortion / shader noise
« on: January 01, 2013, 01:24:19 AM »
Hi,

I used to play star ruler on this computer a year or so ago but stopped for a duration.  I never had this problem before, but now odd distortions are appearing around every star in every system. (see attachment) I think it is some kind of shader problem because when I turn the shaders off, the noise effect goes away, however without shaders it looks rather unpleasant and I would prefer not having to play like that.

Is this a known issue?  I could not find anything with the search function.  If you need or want me to post my dxdiag I think I can try to rustle one up.

GGLucas

  • Dr. Evil
  • BMS Staff
  • Delusional
  • *
  • Posts: 1877
  • Karma: +300/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2013, 02:06:22 AM »
This is a problem with intel cards - there's some fundamental problems in the way some integrated intel cards handle shaders and it's making noise like that appear.
Try turning on the integrated compatibility mode from the graphics menu and restarting.

Michus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2013, 02:54:45 AM »
Hmm, odd.

I do have an intel processor, but I'm running this on a pc desktop with dedicated graphics card (geforce gtx 560 TI)

I'll test the setting you mentioned... is the game trying to render everything via cpu or something?

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #3 on: January 01, 2013, 03:00:33 AM »
If your intel processor has an integrated GPU, Star Ruler may be mistakenly using it instead of the dedicated one. If you check you log.txt (Documents/My Games/Star Ruler) it should indicate what gpu it is running on.

Providing that log.txt file may be useful regardless, if it found any shader errors.

Michus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #4 on: January 01, 2013, 05:14:53 AM »
Here is the log.txt:

Code: [Select]
Logical CPUs: 4
Loading config.cfg...
Initializing Engine...
Processor speed: 2.925GHz
Star Ruler build: 1.2.1.2
Seed: 4457228
============
Loading resources...
============
============
Hooking script functions...
============
============
Hooking script functions... Finished(64ms)
============
============
Loading/Building scripts...
============
============
Loading/Building scripts... Finished(4559ms)
============
============
Loading game data files...
============
============
Loading resources... Finished(6720ms)
============
============
Loading game data files... Finished(2135ms)
============
============
Preparing Galaxy...
============
============
Preparing Galaxy... Finished(383ms)
============
============
Initialize GUI...
============
============
Initialize GUI... Finished(78ms)
============
Game loop start 3:12:18 1/1/2013

It doesn't seem to show any errors, or name the GPU either.

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #5 on: January 01, 2013, 12:54:22 PM »
Create a shortcut to the game and add -verbose after the exe path, or add -verbose to the launch options via Steam.

Michus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2013, 03:34:41 PM »
I attached a copy of the log.txt to this post.  I didn't see anything about a graphics processor in there, but maybe you will see something that I don't know to look for.

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #7 on: January 01, 2013, 03:57:35 PM »
Looks like the gpu print doesn't get logged, unfortunately.

Not sure what support to offer, your driver claims to be working. You could disable shaders to avoid the messed up graphics, but the fallbacks are pretty ugly in their own right.

Michus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #8 on: January 02, 2013, 02:38:26 AM »
Well I toggled the integrated gpu compatibility to on and the distortion goes away, revealing relatively normal looking stars.

Does this mean the game is using my cpu for all graphical processing?  The game seems to run too smoothly for that.

Either way I suppose I am satisfied... at least until I start getting thousands of ships and my cpu is doing all the graphics and game calcs.

Firgof

  • BMS Administrator
  • Delusional
  • *
  • Posts: 1531
  • Karma: +175/-4
    • View Profile
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #9 on: January 02, 2013, 11:05:35 AM »
Quote
Does this mean the game is using my cpu for all graphical processing?  The game seems to run too smoothly for that.
Your suspicion is correct; it's still using your GPU though I should mention the game is more CPU focused than GPU.  In any case:  It's just taking into account that it's rendering with a graphics chipset and not a card -- Intel chipsets don't understand some of our shader instructions properly even though they claim full compatibility.  Though it should be using the card since it's available.

There may be a way to disable the mobo's graphics chipset from your bios settings if you want the game to run off your graphics card; that depends on your BIOS and mobo of course.
« Last Edit: January 02, 2013, 11:07:48 AM by Firgof »
"Now it will punish you"

Trapper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2013, 10:15:20 AM »
I just wanted to add that I'm getting this same star distortion, but only after the latest nVidia update from 306.97 to 310.70. Before the update, stars and their coronas were rendered correctly.

My system has no on-board Intel graphics support and I never needed to enable support for it until after the update.

« Last Edit: January 03, 2013, 03:01:05 PM by Trapper »

Azalrion

  • Delusional
  • ****
  • Posts: 1325
  • Karma: +147/-1
  • Memory Murderer
    • View Profile
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #11 on: January 03, 2013, 12:33:09 PM »
Can confirm the issue as well, looked over the driver changes from nvidia and it seems during adding support for OpenGL 4.3 they've changed their implementation slightly and broken it for older versions.
GA - Mod Team
GA Forums

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3237
  • Karma: +397/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #12 on: January 03, 2013, 12:51:25 PM »
Oh great. They're not even reporting a shader compilation error, so that's a fairly serious driver issue. If I can replicate the issue locally with a driver update, I'll see what I can do to work around the issue, otherwise I'll contact Nvidia.

GGLucas

  • Dr. Evil
  • BMS Staff
  • Delusional
  • *
  • Posts: 1877
  • Karma: +300/-6
    • View Profile
Re: Star distortion / shader noise
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2013, 02:37:47 PM »