Author Topic: Savegame load CTD  (Read 922 times)

Tankman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Savegame load CTD
« on: June 09, 2015, 12:22:19 PM »
There's another topic on this but my issue seems isolated to a single save.  Whenever I load this one save, the game CTDs.  From the error log it seems it has to do with the eyedropper tool, but I won't claim to know the actual issue.

Quote from: log
07 Jun 2015 17:52:45
Script Exception: Index out of bounds
 E:\Programs\Star Ruler 2\scripts\gui\tabs\DesignEditorTab.as
  tabs.DesignEditorTab::HexData@ DesignData::get_hex(const vec2u&inout) | Line 476 | Col 3
  tabs.DesignEditorTab::void MoveTool::release(DesignData@, const vec2u&inout, int) | Line 1322 | Col 4
  tabs.DesignEditorTab::bool Construction::onMouseEvent(const MouseEvent&inout, IGuiElement@) | Line 2319 | Col 7
  elements.BaseGuiElement::bool BaseGuiElement::onMouseEvent(const MouseEvent&inout, IGuiElement@) | Line 113 | Col 4
  elements.GuiBlueprint::bool GuiBlueprint::onMouseEvent(const MouseEvent&inout, IGuiElement@) | Line 242 | Col 3
  gui::bool RootElement::postMouseEvent(const MouseEvent&inout) | Line 293 | Col 3
  gui::bool onMouseEvent(const MouseEvent&inout) | Line 177 | Col 2
  input::bool onMouseButton(int, bool) | Line 266 | Col 2


07 Jun 2015 17:52:47
Script Exception: Null pointer access
 E:\Programs\Star Ruler 2\scripts\gui\tabs\DesignEditorTab.as
  tabs.DesignEditorTab::void EyedropperTool::release(DesignData@, const vec2u&inout, int) | Line 945 | Col 3
  tabs.DesignEditorTab::bool Construction::onMouseEvent(const MouseEvent&inout, IGuiElement@) | Line 2319 | Col 7
  elements.BaseGuiElement::bool BaseGuiElement::onMouseEvent(const MouseEvent&inout, IGuiElement@) | Line 113 | Col 4
  elements.GuiBlueprint::bool GuiBlueprint::onMouseEvent(const MouseEvent&inout, IGuiElement@) | Line 242 | Col 3
  gui::bool RootElement::postMouseEvent(const MouseEvent&inout) | Line 293 | Col 3
  gui::bool onMouseEvent(const MouseEvent&inout) | Line 177 | Col 2
  input::bool onMouseButton(int, bool) | Line 266 | Col 2

Save

I looked up this issue beforehand, hopefully this is enough information.

EDIT: It occurs to me that the dates on the log are old, which means the game didn't generate a log before crashing.  Oh well.
« Last Edit: June 09, 2015, 02:42:29 PM by Tankman »

dalolorn

  • Sentient
  • **
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • ABEM Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Savegame load CTD
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2015, 03:50:18 AM »
Uh, what were the game's contents?

Tankman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Savegame load CTD
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2015, 04:38:36 AM »
Uh, what were the game's contents?

Not sure I follow, what do you mean by contents?

If you mean what was in the save, just an empire with two fleets, the Revenant, and some ore on the homeworld being stockpiled to make a ringworld.  Game loaded fine and then when I saved and quit for the day it no longer did.  Between then and when I quit nothing really happned besides me mudering a few enemy fleets with the Revenant and capturing worlds.

EDIT: If it helps at all I'm on the latest version, used the patcher and everything.

dalolorn

  • Sentient
  • **
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • ABEM Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Savegame load CTD
« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2015, 11:55:58 AM »
What about designs?

Also, is there any .txt file in there aside from log.txt and error.log.txt?

Edit: Oh, and what mods (if any) were you using? When mods update, the results are usually fatal for any saves you have lying around. If this is the case, your only options are to start a new game or, if in any way possible, revert to an older version of the mod. (It usually isn't possible, sadly.)
« Last Edit: June 10, 2015, 11:57:44 AM by dalolorn »

Tankman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Savegame load CTD
« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2015, 12:07:46 PM »
Designs?  Nothing extravagant I don't think, I was designing a titan at the time as well.  Neutronium armor, sheilds, Muon guns, Superdense lasers.  That and some custom gunboat/missileboat/beamboat designs, a mining capital I nicknamed the fissure, a custom scout design...

As for text files, the folder also has settings.txt, mods.txt (No mods so that's empty) and something named "SR2_2015-6-9_22-7-10.mdmp" (What I presume is a minidump).  That's empty as well however, and I can't seem to get one to appear again.

If it is required I can upload the full folder.

EDIT 2: Before it is asked, research was basically up to Ringworlds, Antimatter Generators discovered from an artifact.  Neutronium armor to sheilds down that line over to graviton thrusters.  Megacities was beelined as were Muon cannons.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2015, 12:15:40 PM by Tankman »

dalolorn

  • Sentient
  • **
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • ABEM Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Savegame load CTD
« Reply #5 on: June 11, 2015, 04:13:16 AM »
Okay, I'm having trouble coming up with possible causes anymore...

With all the logs and minidumps empty, it sounds like we've reached a dead end.

Could you try running the game with the -verbose command line option and try to crash the game again?

To do this for the Steam version, right-click the game in your Library, press Properties, press Set Launch Options and type in "-verbose" without the quotes. Non-Steam versions have to do some messing around with Command Prompt (or its Linux equivalent), shortcuts or whatever; I'm not quite sure how to explain any of those options.

Tankman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Savegame load CTD
« Reply #6 on: June 11, 2015, 05:16:59 AM »
It's quite possible that the file just got corrupted in some weird sort of coincidence.  But I'll try that and see if somthing happens.

FYI the steam launch options are just shortcut commands, no command line funny business needed I don't think.

EDIT: Ran save with verbose, log as follows.

Quote from: log
11 Jun 2015 03:19:41
Initializing sound
Initializing window system
Loading engine settings
Initializing OpenGL Engine
Registering mods
Starting 5 threads on 4 processors.
Loading mod(s)
Preparing tasks took 0.2 ms
CloudInit started at 0.0s on thread 14
CloudInit took 0.0ms on thread 14
CloudFiles started at 0.0s on thread 1
CloudFiles took 0.0ms on thread 1
CloudMods started at 0.0s on thread 15
CloudMods took 53.3ms on thread 15ModInit started at 0.1s on thread 14

ModInit took 12.1ms on thread 14Effects started at 0.1s on thread 11
Fonts started at 0.1s on thread 15
Shaders started at 0.1s on thread 12

Sounds started at 0.1s on thread 1
Effects took 0.6ms on thread 11
Models started at 0.1s on thread 16
Sounds took 1.4ms on thread 1
Shaders took 2.6ms on thread 12
Window started at 0.1s on thread 1
ProcessSounds started at 0.1s on thread 11
Models took 8.9ms on thread 16
ProcessSounds took 0.8ms on thread 11
LocateScripts started at 0.1s on thread 11
LocateScripts took 6.7ms on thread 11
EmpireStats started at 0.1s on thread 11
ObjectTypes started at 0.1s on thread 14
GameConfig started at 0.1s on thread 12
Effectors started at 0.1s on thread 16
ObjectTypes took 14.6ms on thread 14
Materials started at 0.1s on thread 14
EmpireStats took 31.5ms on thread 11
Effectors took 33.3ms on thread 16
PreloadScripts started at 0.1s on thread 11
PreloadScripts took 0.2ms on thread 11
Generics started at 0.1s on thread 11
Generics took 0.1ms on thread 11
NodeTypes started at 0.1s on thread 16
NodeTypes took 0.4ms on thread 16
Components started at 0.1s on thread 11
Events started at 0.1s on thread 16
Events took 25.5ms on thread 16
Fonts took 163.4ms on thread 15SkinStyles started at 0.2s on thread 16

GameConfig took 141.9ms on thread 12
SubSystems started at 0.2s on thread 15
Components took 167.7ms on thread 11States started at 0.3s on thread 12

States took 64.4ms on thread 12
ShaderStateVars started at 0.4s on thread 11
ShaderStateVars took 0.0ms on thread 11
ObjComponentOffsets started at 0.4s on thread 11
ObjComponentOffsets took 0.0ms on thread 11
OpenGL vendor 'NVIDIA Corporation', renderer 'GeForce GTX 760/PCIe/SSE2'
       version '4.5.0 NVIDIA 352.86'
Window took 561.5ms on thread 1
Errors started at 0.6s on thread 1
Errors took 0.4ms on thread 1
CompileShaders started at 0.6s on thread 1
CompileShaders took 160.5ms on thread 1
ProcessModels started at 0.8s on thread 1
ProcessModels took 9.9ms on thread 1
SubSystems took 783.8ms on thread 15
Particles started at 2.2s on thread 15Materials took 2147.6ms on thread 14

Particles took 3.4ms on thread 15
ResourceBinds started at 2.3s on thread 14
ResourceBinds took 0.0ms on thread 14
Shipsets started at 2.3s on thread 1
ProcessImages started at 2.3s on thread 14
ProcessImages took 28.8ms on thread 14
MenuScripts started at 2.5s on thread 14
SkinStyles took 2298.4ms on thread 16
MaterialBinds started at 2.5s on thread 15
Shipsets took 608.6ms on thread 1
ProcessTextures started at 3.0s on thread 1
ProcessTextures took 19.8ms on thread 1
MaterialBinds took 505.3ms on thread 15
MenuScripts took 1991.6ms on thread 14
Loaded in 4.5 seconds
Tasks used a total of 9.8 seconds (117% faster)
Preparing tasks took 0.1 ms
ServerScripts started at 0.0s on thread 96
ShadowScripts started at 0.0s on thread 97
ClientScripts started at 0.0s on thread 98
ProcessImages started at 0.0s on thread 99
ProcessSounds started at 0.0s on thread 95
ProcessSounds took 0.7ms on thread 95
ProcessImages took 258.7ms on thread 99
Shadow scripts: 85ms load, 1195ms compile
ShadowScripts took 1280.6ms on thread 97
Server scripts: 99ms load, 3575ms compile
ServerScripts took 3675.2ms on thread 96
Client scripts: 105ms load, 3848ms compile
ClientScripts took 3954.1ms on thread 98
CleanupScripts started at 4.0s on thread 99
CleanupScripts took 3.9ms on thread 99
Loaded in 4.0 seconds
Tasks used a total of 9.2 seconds (131% faster)
Elevation grid took 5.15ms to calculate.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2015, 05:24:08 AM by Tankman »

dalolorn

  • Sentient
  • **
  • Posts: 199
  • Karma: +7/-0
  • ABEM Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Savegame load CTD
« Reply #7 on: June 11, 2015, 08:28:36 AM »
And nothing seems to be wrong. Yep. I'm done here. :(

Tankman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Savegame load CTD
« Reply #8 on: June 11, 2015, 08:32:52 AM »
It's fine, if nothing seems wrong then the file must have just randomly got corrupted for some reason.  If it happens again and is correlated with anything, I'll come back.

At least it gives me the chance to make a new save to use my better skills!