Author Topic: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit  (Read 666 times)

EmuGator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« on: May 07, 2012, 05:24:47 PM »
I recently bought Star Ruler on steam and I can't launch it. I have tried using The "starruler.exe" in the folder. All it says is:


Here is my Computer Specs:

Windows 7 Home premium 64-bit SP1
Intel Core I5 2520M Dual-Core @ 2.50GHz (It could be multithreaded, I personally don't know!)
6GB Dual-Channel DDR3 Ram
Intel HD Graphics 3000


I have read the 64-bit fix post and that stopped my computer from crashing but it didn't let me launch.

Please don't ask me to upgrade my graphics chip (I call it a chip for a reason) for 2 reasons. Reason 1: I am using a laptop. Reason 2: it is soldered on to the motherboard!

Edit:
Just found out that my CPU is a dual core multithreaded CPU!
« Last Edit: May 09, 2012, 11:07:58 AM by EmuGator »

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3159
  • Karma: +392/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2012, 07:28:21 PM »
Apparently, the wrong version of the Visual Studio runtime is being used (the 64 bit version, while Star Ruler is 32 bit). Please try installing it from Microsoft's site: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=5555

Ashtoruin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2012, 07:44:16 PM »
I'm having the same problem, I've tried multiple copies of Visual Studio runtime, including the one you linked to and the one in the star ruler folder... Still not working :(

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3159
  • Karma: +392/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2012, 08:32:33 PM »
Without more information, I can't really tell what's going wrong.

EmuGator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2012, 11:09:14 AM »
Still can't get it to work! still comes up with an error.

EmuGator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2012, 03:57:10 PM »
Without more information, I can't really tell what's going wrong.

What type of info do you need?

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3159
  • Karma: +392/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2012, 08:01:14 PM »
What type of info do you need?

Any more information from the error itself. The error number only tells me the class of error, not what part of the program is causing it.

EmuGator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2012, 05:28:45 PM »
Any more information from the error itself. The error number only tells me the class of error, not what part of the program is causing it.

Well I did what it says to get it running for 64-bit users and when I tried to launch it showed this, I think it could be the part that checks for the .dll file?  I'm not an expert in Vis C++ so don't ask me for technical stuff.

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3159
  • Karma: +392/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2012, 05:38:09 PM »
Try locating OpenAL32.dll on your system, and copy it into Star Ruler's main folder.

EmuGator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2012, 12:43:15 PM »
Reaper, I tried to do what you just said and it didn't work but if I use the newest OpenAL it launches untill it starts loading the game engine then it freezes my computer.  :'(

Thy Reaper

  • BMS Lead Developer
  • BMS Administrator
  • Hopeless
  • *
  • Posts: 3159
  • Karma: +392/-8
    • View Profile
    • Blind Mind Studios
Re: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2012, 04:21:42 PM »
Freezes during launch are usually a major dll error. Could you find your log file and upload it? It's in Documents/My Games/Star Ruler.

EmuGator

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Launch - Win7 64Bit
« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2012, 04:37:54 PM »
I will upload it tomorrow!

Edit:
No need I got it working.  Somehow i installed the newest version of OpenAL again and it worked!?
« Last Edit: May 15, 2012, 04:46:25 PM by EmuGator »