Author Topic: Mirage Shipset - Work In Progress.  (Read 5066 times)

cause792

• Sentient
    • View Profile
    • Mirage Shipset
Mirage Shipset - Work In Progress.
« on: November 26, 2012, 10:59:49 AM »
Hello everyone.

As some of you may know, I have been contributing to the Galactic Armory  for a few months now. Mostly some tech icons and stuff. Well, in my spare time I have been steadily improving my modelling and texturing skill on various [CENSORED] projects for Galactic Armory.
But since I love Star Ruler, and GA so much, I have decided to start a pet project of mine. As you may have guessed from the topic name, its a new shipset. I have been working on it for a few weeks already. Its still early in the process and I only have a few ships, but I quite like the results, so I have decided to go public ;).  I would say I still have about 2 months worth of work on it, with Christmas inevitably delaying the progress.

About Mirage:

This ship set is designed to be very resource efficient and easy to run. My Two main priorities in the design and execution is RAM and CPU power. That said I try my very best for the ships to look good. Most of the designs use multiple mirror planes in the creation process( left-right; up-down; back-front), so I find the name rather fitting the style. The use of mirrors allows me to gain a lot of fidelity from small textures, and so saving the valuable RAM.

The textures on the whole shipset are designed to be easily colourable. For now I am making 2 colours for the shipset: Brass and Battleship Gray.

I plan to post a few pictures of every hull as I finish them off one by one. Since I already have a few ready, this week I will post one every day, until I run out of finished hulls.

Today we start with the basics: Drone.
Its the hull for the smallest ships you can build. Most of the time you will actually never see this ship, as they are usually too small to notice on the screen.